Your browser is no longer supported

To get the best experience, we suggest using a newer version of Internet Explorer/Edge, or using another supported browser such as Google Chrome.

In 1981, the Victoria University Senate was established by the Victoria University Act. The Senate consists of Victoria University staff, professors, students, and alumni who meet annually to discuss Victoria College and Emmanuel College matters. The Victoria University Senate has three primary functions: granting degrees in theology and honorary degrees, establishing student awards, and summoning Convocations; however, the Senate has also been given jurisdiction over a wide range of topics, ranging from educational affairs to matters conferred to the Senate by the Board.

The Victoria University Senate Executive is a subcommittee of Victoria and Emmanuel College fellows, faculty members, students, alumni, and professors. This smaller group drawn from the full Victoria University Senate typically meets three times a year to make decisions on Senate matters during periods when the full Senate is not slated to meet.