Your browser is no longer supported

To get the best experience, we suggest using a newer version of Internet Explorer/Edge, or using another supported browser such as Google Chrome.

Victoria University Honorary Degrees

Honorary degrees recognize extraordinary accomplishments and the exemplary lives of individuals who have made remarkable contributions to Canadian society and communities abroad.

The selection committee considers candidates whose accomplishments reflect the distinctiveness of Victoria University, including fostering diversity and the practice of inclusive excellence. The high esteem of these honorary degree recipients should be such that, in the awarding of the honorary degree to them, distinction is also brought to Victoria University.

The degree of Doctor of Divinity may be conferred upon persons who have made a significant contribution to the Church or to its mission; the degree of Doctor of Sacred Letters may be conferred upon persons who have made a significant contribution to the study of Theology or Religion. Members of the Order of Ministry and laity are eligible for consideration for either degree.

The degree of Doctor of Humane Letters may be conferred upon persons whose outstanding contributions to society exemplify the values that Victoria University seeks to cultivate in its members.

Honorary degrees are normally conferred either in May at the Victoria University Convocation at which Emmanuel College students receive their degrees, or in October at the Charter Day Convocation.

Honorary graduands may be Canadian or non-Canadian. They must, however, attend Convocation for the conferring of their degree. The Committee does not consider nominees who are currently active in political life, or community members who are currently employed by Victoria University, the University of Toronto or members of the governing bodies of these institutions.

Nominations for Honorary Degrees: deadline November 22, 2023

Honorary Degree Nomination Form (fillable PDF) 

Honorary Degree Nomination Form (Word)

 Honorary Degrees Conferred by Senate