About Board of Regents

The framework of our government is found in the Victoria University Act, which creates four governing bodies within the University: the Board of Regents; the Senate; the Council of Victoria College; and the Council of Emmanuel College.

The Board of Regents is the governing body of Victoria University. It has appointed eight committees to assist it with its responsibilities: Executive, Alumni Affairs and Advancement, Campus Life, Finance & Audit, Investment, Nominating Appointments & Governance, Pension, and Property.

The Board appoints the Chancellor, the President, the Principals, the other officers of the University, and appoints and promotes the teaching staff of Victoria and Emmanuel Colleges.

Except for Board and United Church appointees, where the Board can recommend membership, the Regents are elected by the constituency they represent. The 37 members include students (6), faculty (8), Victoria College alumni (1), Emmanuel College alumni (2), United Church appointees (13), ex officio (4) and discretionary (3).

Board of Regents Meetings

Thursday October 12, 2017 at 4PM - 6PM
Saturday November 25, 2017 9AM - 4PM (Strategy Day)
Thursday February 8, 2017 at 4PM - 6PM 
Thursday April 5, 2017 at 4PM - 6PM (Annual General Meeting)

About Victoria